Aerospace

Global aviation feeds on composites

They are not perturbed by extreme temperature changes, they convince engineers with their lightness and can withstand even high loads with ease: fibre composites are ideally suited for use in aviation and space travel. This will also be highlighted by COMPOSITES EUROPE in Stuttgart from 6 to 8 November 2018. In addition to the exhibitors’ ranges the trade fair provides information on fibre composites with talks on the focal themes of composites in aerospace at the Composites Forum and the Lightweight Technologies Forum.
  
CE_2018_Leichtbau_160-5065_web.jpg

Numerous exhibitors at COMPOSITES EUROPE already cooperate with the aerospace industry today. Whoever seeks best practices and innovations should make sure to schedule a visit to Airbus supplier Flugzeug-Union Süd or CNC manufacturing specialists Reichenbacher HAMUEL. Also represented on site will be producers and developers of release agents such as Chem-Trend or CMS Deutschland, whose CNC machining centres are used in the aerospace industry worldwide, to name but one sector. HEXCEL, a leading vendor of Advanced Composites and HUFSCHMIED Zerspanungssysteme, a producer of high-performance tools employed in the aviation industry, can also be contacted personally at the trade fair. Know-how related to the use of composites in aircraft and the like also comes care of LAP, an expert in high-precision laser projectors, and MAKA Systems, whose 5-axis CNC machining centres and holistic solution concepts are also found in aviation, plus many other companies exhibiting at the trade fair. Furthermore, the programme on Thursday, 8 November, will be all about aerospace. On this day experts at both the Composites Forum and the Lightweight Technologies Forum will address the current requirements and challenges for composites producers in this sector of industry.  

Higher demand due to new types of aircraft

Exhibitors at COMPOSITES EUROPE 2018 also include BELOTTI. This Italian company is a cooperation partner of the state-owned Chinese aircraft manufacturer Comac. Their C919 took off for its maiden flight in May 2017 making Comac a new competitor for Airbus and Boeing. Since November 2017 the two aircraft prototypes have undergone testing and the second prototype has now also passed initial performance tests. In 2021 the first planes are slotted for delivery to customers. Several hundreds of orders have already been received.

What constitutes a challenge for Chinese competitors is good news for the composites industry: the demand for composite materials rises with each new type of aircraft. For the production of the C919 Comac also focuses on these materials to save weight. The cabin pressure bulkhead in the rear of the fuselage is made of PMI-based structural foam. It is very light, withstands even extreme temperature changes and high mechanical loads, thereby fulfilling the requirements for safety-critical parts in aircraft exteriors.

Half a plane made of composites

Composites have also been long established materials at Airbus and Boeing. While CFRP only accounted for less than 30% of the materials used in the A380, it already reaches 53% for the A350 XWB. Here the wings of this giant passenger jet are the biggest components ever made of carbon-fibre reinforced plastics. The jet airliner is said to weigh in 10 tons less than its predecessor A330. Thanks to a 50% share of CFRP the Boeing 787 model also saves about one fifth of weight. Since for one Airbus A320 100 kg less weight translates into almost 10,000 litres less kerosene per year, it is plain to see the enormous savings potential that composites hold.

Current market studies testify to this fact. The report “Bestandsaufnahme Leichtbau in Deutschland” (Taking Stock of Lightweight Construction in Germany) published in 2015 by the VDI Centre for Resource Efficiency, for example, rates the growth potential of composites in aircraft construction as very good. The market growth forecast for FRP use in aviation and space travel by 2020 stands at approximately 15%. One remaining challenge, however, is the issue of excessively high costs. Therefore, the development of less expensive, scalable automated production technologies is a research focus in Germany.

China and India are pushing the market

An analysis released by market research institute Ceresana in 2017 forecasts that global air traffic and, hence, the demand for new civilian jets, is very likely to continue rising substantially over the coming years.  At the same time, the share of composites used in both civil and military aviation and space travel will go up. This is why the prospects are positive at the locations of the said manufacturers: Airbus (Western Europe), Boeing (USA), Bombardier (Canada), Embraer (Brazil) and Comac (China).

The Composites Market Report 2017 also covers the positive growth prospects – especially for CFRP – in the aerospace industry in detail. This development is clearly helped by the segment of commercial aviation with models A350 XWB, A380, B787 and B777X. Between 2015 and 2016 approx. 8% growth was posted. There are increasing efforts undertaken in the Asian region to strongly expand the national aviation and space travel sectors. Alongside the new, large-scale activities in India, developments in China are particularly interesting.

Space travel accounts for 60% of global total sales

There are currently also activities undertaken in space travel in the area of booster rockets. Both Falcon9 (SpaceX) and Ariane 6 (ESA/ASL) are built with the help of carbon composites. The CFP boosters of Ariane 6, for example, are developed and later manufactured by MT Aerospace (Augsburg, Germany) and AVIO (Collefero, Italy) by means of a coiling process. In Asia the space travel programme is also pushed. Here the efforts undertaken even include the installation of an own Chinese orbital station for the time after the ISS decomissioning.  

One USP of the aerospace industry in carbon composite consumption are the clearly higher sales compared to other sectors. Demand in the aerospace sector stands at some 38,000 tons (accounting for 30% of the total global market) and therefore only slightly exceeds that of the automotive sector at just under 28,000 tons (22%). The share in earnings, however, is markedly higher: at US$ 11.7 billion it accounts for some 60% of the total turnover generated (US$ 19.3 billion). According to the market report, this is especially due to the high quality demands and approval costs that entail significantly higher kilo prices by comparison.

COMPOSITES EUROPE 2018 in Stuttgart

Technological advances in the process chain are among the current drivers pushing the development of efficient lightweight construction solutions and their implementation in high-volume production. From 6 to 8 November, COMPOSITES EUROPE will show all the manufacturing processes used to make fibre-reinforced plastics, from raw materials to processing methods to lightweight construction innovations in automotive engineering, aerospace, boatbuilding, wind energy and construction.

Visitors will meet more than 400 exhibitors from 30 countries in Stuttgart, the leading technology region of the industry in Germany, the leading research and development country worldwide, who’ll put on display state-of-the-art technology and the potential of composites –and not just in the exhibition space but also in the numerous event areas, lecture forums, themed guided tours and workshops.

 

COMPOSITES EUROPE is organised by trade fair organiser Reed Exhibitions in cooperation with the European industry association EuCIA and the trade association Composites Germany, a coalition whose members include the industry associations and clusters AVK, CCeV, CFK-Valley and the VDMA Working Group Hybrid Lightweight Technologies.

 

www.composites-europe.com

Luftfahrt

Weltweit boomende Luftfahrt ist auf Verbundwerkstoffe angewiesen

Sie lassen sich von extremen Temperaturwechseln nicht beeindrucken, überzeugen durch ihre Leichtigkeit und halten selbst hohen Belastungen locker stand: Faserverbundwerkstoffe eignen sich ideal für den Einsatz in der Luft- und Raumfahrt. Dies unterstreicht auch die COMPOSITES EUROPE vom 6. bis 8. November 2018 in Stuttgart. Zusätzlich zum Angebot der Aussteller informiert die Fachmesse im Rahmen des Composites Forum und im Lightweight Technologies Forum mit Themenschwerpunkten zu Faserverbundwerkstoffen in der Luft- und Raumfahrt.

CE_2018_Leichtbau_160-5065_web.jpg

Zahlreiche Aussteller der COMPOSITES EUROPE arbeiten bereits erfolgreich mit der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie zusammen. Wer sich rund um Best-Practices und Innovationen informieren will, sollte beispielsweise einen Besuch bei dem Airbus-Lieferanten Flugzeug-Union Süd oder CNC-Fertigungsspezialist Reichenbacher HAMUEL einplanen. Außerdem sind Hersteller und Entwickler von Trennmitteln Chem-Trend oder CMS Deutschland, deren CMS CNC-Bearbeitungszentren weltweit u.a. in der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie eingesetzt werden, vor Ort. Auch HEXCEL, ein führendes Unternehmen im Bereich Advanced Composites und HUFSCHMIED Zerspanungssysteme, Produzent für High Performance Tools die u.a. in der Luftfahrt eingesetzt werden, sind als Ansprechpartner auf der Messe vertreten. Spezialist für hochpräzise Laserprojektoren LAP, MAKA Systems, dessen 5-Achs-CNC-Bearbeitungszentren und ganzheitliche Lösungskonzepte auch in der Luftfahrt zum Einsatz kommen und zahlreiche weitere Unternehmen bieten im Rahmen der Messe ebenfalls Know-How rund um den Einsatz von Composites in Flugzeugen und Co. Darüber hinaus steht das Programm am Donnerstag, den 8. November, ganz im Zeichen von Aerospace. Sowohl im Composites Forum als auch im Lightweight Technologies Forum widmen sich an diesem Tag Experten den aktuellen Anforderungen und Herausforderungen der Composites-Industrie für diesen Branchenzweig.

Höhere Nachfrage dank neuer Flugzeugtypen

Auch BELOTTI ist Aussteller auf der COMPOSITES EUROPE 2018. Das italienische Unternehmen ist zudem Kooperationspartner des staatlichen chinesischen Flugzeugherstellers Comac. Dessen C919 hob im Mai 2017 zum Jungfernflug ab, womit seitens Comac der erste Schritt getan war, um Airbus und Boeing in eine neue Konkurrenzsituation zu bringen. Seit November 2017 befinden sich zwei Flugzeuge im Testbetrieb, auch der zweite Prototyp hat inzwischen erste Leistungschecks bestanden. Geplant ist, 2021 die ersten Flieger an Kunden zu übergeben. Mehrere hundert Bestellungen liegen bereits vor.

Was für die Wettbewerber der Chinesen eine Herausforderung darstellt, ist für die Composites-Industrie eine gute Nachricht: Denn mit jedem neuen Flugzeugtyp wächst die Nachfrage nach Verbundwerkstoffen. Auch Comac setzt bei der Produktion der C919 auf die Materialien, um Gewicht zu sparen. So wird das Kabinendruckschott im hinteren Teil des Flugzeugrumpfs aus einem Strukturschaum auf PMI-Basis hergestellt. Dieser ist sehr leicht, hält selbst extremen Temperaturwechseln und hohen mechanischen Belastungen stand und erfüllt damit die Anforderungen für sicherheitsrelevante Teile im Flugzeugaußenbereich.

Ein halbes Flugzeug aus Composites

Auch bei Airbus und Boeing sind Composites längst etabliert. Lag beispielsweise der CFK-Anteil beim A380 noch unter 30 Prozent, beträgt er beim A350 XWB bereits 53 Prozent. Dabei sind die Tragflächen des riesigen Passagierjets die größten jemals aus kohlefaserverstärktem Kunststoff hergestellten Bauteile. Insgesamt soll der Jet 10 Tonnen weniger wiegen als das Vorgängermodell A330. Auch die Boeing 787 spart dank 50-Prozent-CFK-Anteil rund ein Fünftel Gewicht ein. Da bereits bei einem Airbus A320 100 kg weniger Gewicht fast 10.000 Liter weniger Kerosin pro Flugzeug und Jahr entsprechen, lässt sich leicht nachvollziehen, welch enormes Sparpotenzial der Einsatz von Composites birgt.

Aktuelle Marktstudien unterstreichen dies. So werden im 2015 erschienenen Bericht „Bestandsaufnahme Leichtbau in Deutschland“ des VDI-Zentrums für Ressourceneffizienz die Wachstumspotenziale von Verbundwerkstoffen im Flugzeugbau als sehr gut eingeschätzt. So beträgt das für die Luft- und Raumfahrt bis 2020 prognostizierte Marktwachstum für FVK etwa 15 Prozent. Eine Herausforderung bleibt dabei das Problem der zu hohen Kosten. Die Entwicklung kostengünstigerer skalierbarer automatisierter Produktionstechniken ist daher Forschungsschwerpunkt in Deutschland.

China und Indien pushen den Markt

Eine Analyse des Marktforschungsinstituts Ceresana aus dem Jahr 2017 prognostiziert, dass der globale Flugverkehr und damit die Nachfrage nach neuen zivilen Jets in den kommenden Jahren voraussichtlich weiter deutlich anwachsen wird. Gleichzeitig steigt der Anteil an Verbundwerkstoffen sowohl in der zivilen als auch in der militärischen Luftfahrt sowie in der Raumfahrt. Dementsprechend positiv sind die Aussichten an den Standorten der jeweiligen Hersteller: Airbus (Westeuropa), Boeing (USA), Bombardier (Kanada), Embraer (Brasilien) und Comac (China).

Auch der Composites-Marktbericht 2017 geht – speziell bei CFK – sehr detailliert auf die guten Wachstumsprognosen in der Aerospace-Industrie ein. So trägt vor allem der Bereich der kommerziellen Luftfahrt mit den Programmen A350 XWB, A380, B787 und B777X deutlich zu dieser Entwicklung bei. Zwischen 2015 und 2016 wurde ein Wachstum von ca. 8 Prozent verzeichnet. Im asiatischen Raum bestehen zunehmende Bestrebungen, das nationale Luft- und Raumfahrtsegment deutlich auszubauen. Neben neuen groß angelegten Aktivitäten in Indien, ist vor allem die Entwicklung in China interessant.

Raumfahrt bringt 60 Prozent des globalen Gesamtumsatzes

Auch im Raumfahrtsegment gibt es aktuelle Aktivitäten im Bereich der Trägerraketen. Sowohl die Falcon9 (SpaceX) als auch die Ariane 6 (ESA/ASL) werden zu großen Anteilen unter Zuhilfenahme von Carbon Composites konstruiert. So werden die CFK-Booster der Ariane 6 beispielsweise von MT Aerospace (Augsburg, Deutschland) und AVIO (Collefero, Italien) in einem Wickelverfahren entwickelt und anschließend gefertigt. Ebenfalls stark vorangetrieben wird das Raumfahrtprogramm in Asien. Hier reichen die Bestrebungen bis hin zum Aufbau einer eigenen chinesischen Orbitalstation für die Zeit nach der Stilllegung der ISS.

Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal der Luft- und Raumfahrt bei Carbon Composites sind die deutlich höheren Umsätze im Vergleich zu anderen Segmenten. So liegt die Bedarfsmenge der Aerospace-Branche am weltweiten Gesamtmarkt mit rund 38.000 Tonnen (30 Prozent) zwar nur leicht oberhalb des Automobilsektors mit knapp 28.000 Tonnen (22 Prozent). Der Anteil an den Erlösen ist jedoch deutlich größer und macht mit 11,7 Mrd. USD rund 60 Prozent des globalen Gesamtumsatzes in Höhe von 19,3 Mrd. USD aus. Laut Marktbericht liegt das vor allem an den hohen Qualitätsansprüchen und Zulassungskosten, die zu vergleichsweise signifikant höheren Kilopreisen führen.

COMPOSITES EUROPE 2018 in Stuttgart

Die COMPOSITES EUROPE zeigt vom 6. - 8. November sämtliche Fertigungsprozesse faserverstärkter Kunststoffe, von Rohstoffen bis zu Verarbeitungsprozessen. Im parallel stattfindenden Lightweight Technologies Forum geht es zudem um Leichtbau-Innovationen in Automobilbau, Luftfahrt, Bootsbau, in der Windenergie-Wirtschaft und im Bausektor.

Die Messebesucher treffen auf rund 400 Aussteller aus 30 Nationen, die in Stuttgart, der führenden Technologieregion der Branche im weltweit führenden Forschungs- und Entwicklungsland Deutschland, den Stand der Technik und das Potential von Faserverbundwerkstoffen zeigen – und das nicht nur im Ausstellungsbereich, sondern auch auf den zahlreichen Event-Areas, in Vortragsforen, Themenrundgängen und Workshops.

 

Organisiert wird die COMPOSITES EUROPE vom Messeveranstalter Reed Exhibitions in Kooperation mit dem europäischen Branchenverband EuCIA und der Wirtschaftsvereinigung Composites Germany, einem Zusammenschluss der Organisationen AVK, CCeV, CFK-Valley und VDMA AG Hybride Leichtbau Technologien.

www.composites-europe.com